The Suburbs of Salt

Artist : Dave Bianchi

Release Date : March 30, 2010

Label : Whatabout Music

Format : CD

Recorded and mixed by Dave Bianchi at Emergency Room Studio (Barcelona). All songs written, arranged, and produced by Dave Bianchi, except Nerves (Amanda Jayne), Bricklessness (Duffy O’Brick), and God (Tori Amos)

Buy album:

For The Suburbs of Salt (2010), Dave Bianchi decided to simplify – Salt was recorded with a band of just 10 musicians. Strings, horns, orchestration, the incredible drum work of Oriol Roca, and a guest vocal slot from singer/songwriter Leslie Helpert; the album also features a cover of the Tori Amos song “God,” as well as original recordings of Amanda Jayne’s “Nerves” and “Bricklessness” written by british poet and artist Duffy O’Brick.


  • Dave Bianchi : guitars, voice, piano, random instruments
  • Oriol Roca : drums
  • Ivo Saint : violin, viola
  • Sasha Agranov : cello
  • Miguel Serna : double bass, electric bass
  • Leslie Helpert: vocals
  • Paul Sessions : tuba
  • Yally Streett : bassoon
  • Antonia Tejeda : baroque recorder
  • Marc Mena : trumpet




Baby Disco

Artist : Dave Bianchi

Release Date : January 28, 2009

Label : Whatabout Music

Format : CD

Recorded, mixed and produced by Dave Bianchi at Emergency Room Studio (Barcelona). All songs written by Dave Bianchi except People Are Strange (The Doors)

Buy album:

Baby Disco (2009) was Dave’s first full-length album, with a featured cover of The Doors’ “People Are Strange”. The version had national radio play, with rock legend Alice Cooper humorously claiming on his own radio program Nights with Alice Cooper that ‘there’s nothing stranger than Dave’. The single “That Stare” had an accompanying video, directed by Laurent Briet, who helmed videos for the Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Radiohead, Death Cab For Cutie, Tori Amos, and many more. The 21-piece orchestra on this album truly highlights Dave’s arranging and orchestration skills…


  • Dave Bianchi : guitars, rhodes, piano, voice, vibraphone
  • Maru DiPace : acoustic guitars, harp
  • Oriol Roca : drums
  • Miguel Serna : bass
  • Sasha Agranov : cello, saw
  • Emma Gawlinski : flute, sax
  • Sam Watson : clarinet
  • Brian Bender : trombone
  • Ivo Saint : violin, viola
  • Amanda Jayne : accordion
  • Daniel Da Lança : backup vox “Vicious Game”
  • Daniel Gil : electric guitar “That Stare”
  • Clara Peya : piano “Last Tango”
  • Emiliano Roca : bowed double bass “Baby Disco”
  • Mû : simbi “DH Hell”
  • Daiho : toys



Artist : Tal Ben Ari

Release Date : December 18, 2012

Label : Whatabout Music

Format : CD

Recorded and mixed by Dave Bianchi at The Emergency Room (Barcelona)

Mastered by Kelly Hibbert

Buy album:

The debut album from Israeli-born singer and songwriter Tal Ben Ari “Tula” featuring musicians from Africa, Brazil, Spain, Israel, France, Italy, Argentina, and Cuba.

Sheelá truly crosses genres.


  • Tal Ben Ari – voice, acoustic guitar, calimba
  • Joao Oliveira – acoustic and electric guitar
  • Martin Laportilla – bass
  • Paolo Angeli – guitar on ‘Corsicana’
  • Oriol Roca – drums
  • Dídac Ruiz – percussion
  • Omer Liechtenstein – piano
  • Mû – voice on ‘Shalva’
  • Man Ex Maqina – voice on ‘Ahavad Hadasa’
  • Miguel Serna – stand up bass on ‘Corsicana’
  • Rocky Albero – trumpet
  • Sasha Agranov – cello and saw
  • Ivo Saint – violin




Here Inside

Artist : Samantha de Siena

Release Date : May 4, 2010

Label : Whatabout Music

Format : CD

Buy album:

It’s easy to imagine Samantha De Siena lost amongst the cobbled streets of Barcelona’s Gothic Quarter, laughing at the moon and piecing together the eight little gems that make up this bohemian dreamer’s sublime debut album, Here Inside. It’s very difficult not to fall to your knees at her feet while listening to a piece as delicate as I’m Coming. It almost sounds like a subtle mixture between the most transparent of Beth Gibbons and the most disconcerting of Cat Power.


  • Samantha de Siena / voice, acoustic guitar
  • Ismael Dueñas: piano, rhodes
  • Maru Di Pace: harp, acoustic guitar
  • Ivo Saint: viola, violin, handsaw, spoken word Here inside
  • Sasha Agranov: cello, saw
  • Nicholas Dominic Talvola: trumpet, flugel horn
  • Miguel Serna Dominguez: double bass, electric bass
  • Oriol Roca: drums
  • Mû: bells, pan
  • Sebastian Crispo: slide guitar
  • Borja Duñó: electric guitar
  • Marc Curcio: electric guitar
  • Danny ‘the Lip’ Lippitt: harmonica
  • Amanda Jayne: accordion
  • Paul Sessions: tuba
  • Dave Bianchi: glockenspiel
  • Pablo Arias: backing vocals
  • Rizumik: beatbox, voice, acoustic guitar





A compilation of songs, as fragile and delicate as her voice, enriched with exuberant arrangements which carry us into a universe as luscious as a greenhouse garden… Her music, which isn’t easy to classify, reminds us of Joanna Newsom’s dreamy folk. Time Out Magazine (June 2010)


Singer-songwriter debuts with an evocative and beautifully unique voice. The music matches perfectly, reminding us of the graceful way in which Tom Waits dishevels his own albums. El Periódico (September 2010)


Folk, coloured by strong influences of jazz, accompanied with delicate arrangements, together paint the beautiful picture that characterises this composer. Her voice at times reminds us of Beth Gibbons from the nineties, and at other times echoes Cat Power in her first albums. Here Inside is an elegant exercise in style, and a wonderful demonstration of the spell that was cast over this city, as it gave birth to new talent within each music genre. Mondosonoro (November 2010)